Hacking to the Gate | Steins;Gate OP

Hacking to the Gate, sung by Kanako Ito, was a little project a Steins;Gate-obsessed Esturd took on by herself when she had too much free time over break. Unfortunately, this one doesn’t have a beautiful animated video by Ashpoop; it only has a blurry unrefined lyric video. But check it out nonetheless!

Links:
Soundcloud
YouTube
Download

Lyrics:

Hear the pulse of heartbeats, of billions and more
Yet to you it’s just a trifle that you ignore
Just a blink of the eye

What has past keeps me in its trap, as future tears appear
Even small mistakes, like specks of dust, I do fear
So I must try

Infinite dream and future we choose to see
Are gifts we bear uselessly
Expanding dreams and futures that are planned
We boast yet understand

That the clock points two hands at this paradigm
To prove the limits of time
I must choose a pact, cannot count on fate
What a cruel contract, hacking to the gate–

In a second I’ll cross the lines of the world
In moments boundaries unfurled
But it is all worthwhile
I must protect your smile
Then once again I fall into a time loop where we
are living free of misery
But I’m at a distance away
Observing every lonely day

Claims of life cannot interest you, nor hollow proofs with no core
Though it’s funny how to you it’s all just a bore
They do not impress you

Foolish races begin to act as if they’re destined to rule
They spout childish theorems, proof they’re conceited fools
And cannot pull through

We are now free to fly beyond through the sky
To love we know will not die
Dreams of love so infinite and sweet
That we never complete

But time flows on, as merciless as a law
And so my dreams must withdraw
And although I know this choice will dictate
Goodbye tomorrow, I’m hacking to the gate–

I cannot forget every brilliant day
Nor promises of yesterday
I must hold on to my friends,
These vows I must defend
Though I am cheating time with the device that remains
For me the gains outweigh the pains
I’m hesitating no more
Though I’m lonely as before

In a second I’ll cross the lines of the world
In moments boundaries unfurled
But it is all worthwhile
I must protect your smile
Then once again I fall into a time loop where we
are living free of misery
But I’m at a distance away
Observing every lonely day

Leave a Reply

